Monthly Archives: April 2015

The Captain – Judo Suwidji, Managing Director Javabooks Periplus Indonesia

Published on Jan 29, 2014, 103.8 FM Brava Radio
The Captain edisi Kamis, 13 November 2014, menghadirkan perbincangan antara Fika Rosemary bersama Managing Director Javabooks Periplus Indonesia, Judo Suwidji.

Perbincangan kali ini dibuka dengan pembahasan terkait harga buku di Indonesia. Menurut Judo, harga buku di Indonesia masih cukup tinggi mengingat kebijakan pemerintah tentang penerapan pajak terhadap buku impor. “Harga buku di Indonesia masih cukup tinggi karena ada penerapan pajak terhadap buku impor,” ucapnya.

“Saya harap semua buku impor bisa bebas pajak, agar buku-buku sebagai jendela dunia bisa terjangkau semua kalangan,” lanjutnya. Padahal menurutnya, sejak awal tahun 2000, minat baca masyarakat terhadap buku-buku impor mengalami mengalami peningkatan. “Sejak tahun 2000 awal, minat pembaca lokal untuk membaca buku-buku asing semakin meningkat,” ucapnya.

Periplus juga terkenal dengan harga bukunya yang lebih murah jika dibandingkan dengan toko buku impor lainnya. Terkait hal ini, Judo juga sempat mengungkapkan bahwa Periplus memiliki strategi untuk menekan biaya lain-lain yang dapat membuat harga buku impor semakin mahal. “Buku-buku di Periplus lebih murah daripada toko buku impor lain atau di Singapura, karena kami berhasil menekan biaya lain-lain,” jelasnya. Continue reading

FacebookTwitterGoogle+Blogger PostLineWhatsAppGoogle GmailShare

‘Go Set a Watchman’ jadi daftar Pre-Order tertinggi-Detik.com

Dokumentasi Periplus saat hadir dalam London Book Fair 2015
Dokumentasi Periplus saat hadir dalam London Book Fair 2015

“Kerahasiaan novel ‘Go Set a Watchman’ yang terjaga selama puluhan tahun menjadi formula penting dan sukses bagi novelis Harper Lee. Meski baru akan terbit pertengahan tahun, namun novel tersebut tengah menjadi pembicaraan hangat di salah satu perdagangan buku terbesar di dunia yaitu London Book Fair 2015. Dengan tema “Making Words Go Further“, London Book Fair 2015 menghadirkan 25.000 pelaku industri buku dari 124 negara selama tiga hari, 14-16 April 2015, di Gedung Olympia di Kensington, salah satu daerah prestisius di Kota London, Inggris. 

Ada 25 penerbit di luar Inggris dan Amerika Serikat yang mengantri untuk memiliki hak cipta dan menerbitkan ulang buku novel Harper Lee ini di negaranya masing-masing. Dari Korea Selatan, Montenegro, Tiongkok, Bulgaria, hingga ke Turki. Continue reading

‘Go Set a Watchman’, What does Harper Lee’s book title mean?

11008804_10153174974964921_2052198364936012298_nThe title of Harper Lee’s soon-to-be published novel, “Go Set a Watchman,” has caused bafflement among many fans of “To Kill a Mockingbird” who are excited about the pending publication of what will in effect be a sequel to Lee’s classic novel.

The Pulitzer Prize-winning author completed the novel the 1950s and put it aside. “Go Set a Watchman” was rediscovered last fall, her publisher announced this week, and it will be released July 14, 2015. The 304-page book will be Lee’s second, and her first new published work in more than 50 years.
The phrase in the title comes from the Book of the Prophet Isaiah, in the King James Bible:
“For thus hath the Lord said unto me, Go, set a watchman, let him declare what he seeth.” – Isaiah 21:6. It makes sense that Lee’s choice of a title for her novel was a King James biblical quote. “That’s what she loved – the elegance of the language of the King James Version,” said historian Wayne Flynt, a longtime friend of Lee and also a Baptist minister. “She grew up in a Bible-reading family. She was imprinted with it as a child.”
Continue reading

I’ll Give You The Sun

IMG_20150407_165720“People die, I think, but your relationship with them doesn’t. It continues and is ever-changing.”
Jandy Nelson, I’ll Give You the Sun

Tragedy and triumph collide in Jandy Nelson’s exhilarating new novel, I’ll Give You the Sun — a captivating and magical read. This was a book that captured me from the very beginning, and refused to let me go until I’d followed twins Noah and Jude through the rest of their incredible journey.

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell. Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking.

Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. Continue reading